Acceptance

Acceptance can be one of the hardest things to achieve (as well as dedication, like my last post). Whether accepting others or yourself, it can be really hard. However, I think that accepting yourself is especially difficult.

From children to adults, we are subjected to countless ads advertising products to “make us better.” With this mentality, it’s hard not to think “what’s wrong with me and how can I fix it?”

Because of all this comparison, it can be hard to accept yourself for who you are. After all, how can you accept yourself when you’re too busy buying products to make yourself better.

You have to accept yourself for who you are, like I've accepted my love for High School Musical & the fact that I'll do the jump anywhere.

You have to accept yourself for who you are, like I’ve accepted my love for High School Musical & the fact that I’ll do the jump anywhere.

IMG_3902

I mean, I’m a big fan of makeup, but if you’re putting it on just because you think it’ll make you better, even if you don’t like it, then you should probably put some more effort into accosting yourself rather than improving your makeup application.

And how exactly are you supposed to go about this? Of course, we can’t just get companies to stop advertising things. As terrible as it sounds, making people feel the need to buy a product based on their insecurities is a company’s job. So we’re going to have to find another way to make it easier to accept yourself and others. One way to do this is a lot of disciplining yourself to stop comparing yourself to others. This can be super hard can it’s super easy to get discouraged, but with a lot of practice, I think it’s definitely possible.

Leave a Reply

