Only Exception

“And that was the day that I promised
I’d never sing of love
If it does not exist”

For the majority of my life growing up, I was questioning what love was. My dad was diagnosed with cancer when I was in the second grade. The treatments, chemo, and medications he went through made him someone who I did not see as a lovable creature. To be honest, cancer wasn’t really a big deal and I didn’t know what it was until my father showed signs of pain. It’s a normal human instinct, to not believe until it is seen. Growing up, my parents were fighting a lot mainly because my dad got mad a lot. I tuned it out, but as I grew up, I realized that the anger he put out wasn’t him. It was the pain from cancer.

IMG_2750

Leave a Reply

