Metaphor Shmetaphor

Sometimes authors just need to chill with the metaphors. I’m pretty sure the entirety of Tale of Two Cities was a metaphor. Just recently we started reading The Grapes of Wrath in my english class, and apparently an entire chapter was metaphor.

Our teacher warned us about these “intercalary” chapters that didn’t really have anything to do with the plot but do have some purpose.

Being a third year AP English student, I immediately thought of metaphors, and when the entire third chapter was about a turtle walking I knew I was in the right direction.

So I got the general idea of whom the title was supposed to represent & how it’s walk was a metaphor too, but little did I know I was missing so much more.

Can you imagine this man being compared to a turtle? Apparently Steinbeck could.

Can you imagine this man being compared to a turtle? Apparently Steinbeck could.

Because when we discussed it in class, I realized just how far the metaphor went. Everything from the color of the turtle’s feet to the number of times it was almost killed was a metaphor apparently.

At first, I thought this was ridiculous. I mean, the color of the turtle’s feet?? This needed to end. But then I realized just how amused I was when I noticed the endless metaphors and just how every book would be without them.

Can you imagine that? A book where absolutely nothing is a symbol. No reading into things. No analyzing. Everything is what it is and that’s it.

Sounds pretty boring right? So maybe metaphors are there for a reason. But maybe writers should also exercise a tiny bit more restraint when comparing a man to a turtle through every tiny aspect.

Leave a Reply

