Senior Year

The second semester of my junior year is barely halfway through and I heard that I would have to be picking my classes for next year already. I’m terrified yet excited at the same time. I don’t know if I’m ready to make the decisions.

Last year, my sophomore year, I had made a big decision in my schedule for my junior year and I don’t think it paid off. I had chosen the regular academic classes I was supposed to take (AP Bio, AP English, History, Precalc Honors, Spanish). Instead of taking an art elective like I planned to do before, I changed it and took the Animal Health Care ROP. I was happy with my decision at first, but as summer started to end, I realized that I wanted to change it to an art class. It was too late. I was stuck with the ROP for a semester. Three hours a day, four days a week. The class was okay, but I had only chosen it because, at the time, I wanted to become a vet when I grew up. I later realized that I didn’t want to be anywhere in the animal field. Even though, I didn’t want to go the class, I still stuck with it til the end. Once first semester ended, so did the ROP.

Now, I’m here with only five classes in the day, instead of six. It feels good to leave early from school, but I feel like I could be doing more. I don’t want to make the same mistake again for my senior year. I kind of have an idea of what classes I want for next year, but I keep doubting myself. For each subject, I’m tied between options. Should I take AP Spanish 4 or regular Spanish 4. How about AP English or regular English. Ceramics or Photo. AP Gov/Econ or regular Gov/Econ. Physics or AP Physics or Sports Medicine. AP Stats or AP Calc. I’m torn in every subject. I don’t want to end up hating the class and regretting my decision. I probably still won’t be able to decide by the time that I have to go to my counselor to give her the list of classes for next year. All I know right now is that I’m scared.

classes

photo cred: me

-Michelle

Leave a Reply

