Instant ROMANCE??

Recently, I stumbled upon the Student Opinion blog of NY Times. This particular article caught my eye.

There was an experiment about having these two strangers answer a few questions, 36 to be exact, and stare into each others’ eyes for like four minutes. Surprisingly enough, there was a SUCCESSFUL couple who actually wedded a few months after the experiment! CRAZY. But we’ll see how long they last.

Here’s the link: http://learning.blogs.nytimes.com/2015/01/13/could-following-these-directions-make-you-fall-in-love-with-a-stranger/

If it isn’t obvious enough, I am a very single 16-turning-17 years old high school student. It would be ideal if I could test this out in real life with real people but I’ll leave my answers to these 36 questions here and we’ll have to spare the staring deeply into my eyes for four minutes for later.

Set I

1. Given the choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want as a dinner guest?

Me: I just finished the Great Gatsby, both book and movie. More than anything right now, I would love to have Leonardo DiCaprio. I think he has a very unique charm and he’s gorgeous. 

2. Would you like to be famous? In what way?

Me: I would love to be famous! Sometimes I dream of becoming an actress-it’s kind of a ridiculous thing to think about given that I’ve never done anything in theater- or singer (never going to happen) but most definitely a GREAT writer. As far as contents for writing, I could be as inspirational as Oprah OR funny as Ellen. Or Both.

3. Before making a telephone call, do you ever rehearse what you are going to say? Why?

Me: In a sense, yes. I’m a planner. I like to be ready and know what I’m doing or saying. But if I’m making a call to my cousin, there is NO planning. 

4. What would constitute a “perfect” day for you?

Me: Let’s rewind back a bit. I would like to sleep early, preferably at 9-10. I would wake up at 8am to the smell of fresh bread and bacon. I would sit down and enjoy breakfast with Hot or cold tea while watching a funny movie or show. Yoga would come next because Lord knows I’m stiff. Ideally, I would go to the beach and relax on the sand and write and read whatever that comes to my mind. Then I would go out to eat with my friends-talk, laugh, and gossip. We would come to a spa and get a massage. Afterwards we would enjoy some good ice cream. Go home, change into my pajamas, and cozy up with some pineapple and strawberries, and movies. 

5. When did you last sing to yourself? To someone else?

Me: I was singing about an hour ago. 

6. If you were able to live to the age of 90 and retain either the mind or body of a 30-year-old for the last 60 years of your life, which would you want?

Me: THE BODY!! If I am 90 but have a good body of a 30 years old, I am living the best life. No fountain of youth needed. 

7. Do you have a secret hunch about how you will die?

Me: I’ve never been in a car accident in my life yet so anything about death, I’m thinking of a car crash. 

8. Name three things you and your partner appear to have in common.

Me: Family values, humor, and big dreams

9. For what in your life do you feel most grateful?

Me: FOR FOOD. I eat Korean BBQ and it changes my life every time I eat it. It’s unreal. 

10. If you could change anything about the way you were raised, what would it be?

Me: Be a go-getter. My parents are both quiet and simple people. My dad hustles everyday but my mom just kind of gives up on what she wants to do after she got married. 

11. Take four minutes and tell your partner your life story in as much detail as possible. (I’ll skip this)

12. If you could wake up tomorrow having gained any one quality or ability, what would it be?

Me: I would be a nerd and choose the ability to read minds. I’m nosy.

Set II

13. If a crystal ball could tell you the truth about yourself, your life, the future or anything else, what would you want to know?

Me: I would want to know about my future achievements more than anything. If my career is secure, then I know I’m going to be confident and invincible. 

14. Is there something that you’ve dreamed of doing for a long time? Why haven’t you done it?

Me: I want to act. I want to skydive. I want to visit all of Asia. I want to learn how to ice-skate. and More! My excuses of not achieving them: too young and not enough money. 

15. What is the greatest accomplishment of your life?

Me: NOT YET AVAILABLE. 

16. What do you value most in a friendship?

Me: Like romantic relationships, humor is the most important factor in a friendship. If that person is not making you laugh and feel good about yourself, then that person is not worth your time at all. 

17. What is your most treasured memory?

Me: There are bits of moments when I am lost in a conversation and laugh like I have no care in the world. Those moments are so precious to me. 

18. What is your most terrible memory?

Me: Family fights/drama. 

19. If you knew that in one year you would die suddenly, would you change anything about the way you are now living? Why?

Me: I think there’s always a chance you can reverse anything with a healthy diet and exercise. At the same time I would indulge in all the food I want to eat. 

20. What does friendship mean to you?

Me: Having a few close friends is super crucial. Friends help you through tough times, lift you up with many good laughs, and keep you grounded. 

21. What roles do love and affection play in your life?

Me: My family doesn’t offer the most love and affection. My friends are great but we don’t really display affection. I think a lot of the time, love comes in the form of imagination and movies and music to me, which help me to become a better person and writer. 

22. Alternate sharing something you consider a positive characteristic of your partner. Share a total of five items.

23. How close and warm is your family? Do you feel your childhood was happier than most other people’s?

Me: My childhood became a bit scary when I came to the U.S. I was scared and nervous because I didn’t know English or anybody. It was a bit lonely at times. Again, I don’t think my family is the warmest and closest family out there. But since they’re my family, they’re tolerable.

24. How do you feel about your relationship with your mother?

Me: Ever since we came to California when I was in second grade, I talked less and less to her. We don’t communicate a lot. I don’t talk about my days with her or anything like that. I like being with my own company so that’s a factor. 

Set III

25. Make three true “we” statements each. For instance, “We are both in this room feeling … “

26. Complete this sentence: “I wish I had someone with whom I could share … “

Me: I wish I had someone with whom I could share my wildest and happiest moments with. 

27. If you were going to become a close friend with your partner, please share what would be important for him or her to know.

Me: I am not your typical girl. I will cuss when my mood is terrible. I will look my worst but also the very best at times. I am a little bit lazy but I’m down for anything. But most importantly, I will really care about you. 

28. Tell your partner what you like about them; be very honest this time, saying things that you might not say to someone you’ve just met.

29. Share with your partner an embarrassing moment in your life.

30. When did you last cry in front of another person? By yourself?

Me: I actually don’t think I’ve cried in front of another person since 8th grade, which was when I got an F on my assignment. Other than that, I’ve had plenty of cries on my own about life. 

31. Tell your partner something that you like about them already.

32. What, if anything, is too serious to be joked about?

Me: Genocides/wars. For example, the Holocaust was a very traumatic past for a lot of people and it’s never right to bring up those negative events. 

33. If you were to die this evening with no opportunity to communicate with anyone, what would you most regret not having told someone? Why haven’t you told them yet?

Me: I think I am an introvert till the end. As much as it would hurt my friends and family to not hear anything from me, I would not regret of not having told something to someone. I would treasure that last thought relaxing my mind and thinking of the good times. 

34. Your house, containing everything you own, catches fire. After saving your loved ones and pets, you have time to safely make a final dash to save any one item. What would it be? Why?.

Me: If I have a laptop with a lot of crucial files I would pick that up- or any unique and special jewelry and photos.

35. Of all the people in your family, whose death would you find most disturbing? Why?

Me: Mom. I think everybody’s moms are very important. Our mothers birth us and no matter what, they’re an influential figure in our lives. I also think that because we’re scared of not having or knowing anyone who would care about us as much as our mothers. 

36. Share a personal problem and ask your partner’s advice on how he or she might handle it. Also, ask your partner to reflect back to you how you seem to be feeling about the problem you have chosen.

Leave a Reply

