Christmas is….

BACK!!!!! But the spirit deteriorates more or less each year.

In my opinion, I feel like the farther we go (as we’ll welcome 2015) the more detached we become with our human-to-human connections. You feel it when dinner with the family is bleak and awkward. Sometimes, if my family and I are eating a simple meal, I would dismiss myself quietly to go to my room and enjoy a good youtube vlog or Korean drama. Nowadays, I find more comfort in being alone to myself and I. Just doing something really simple like eating instant ramen noodles and drinking soothingly hot green tea is out of this world and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Cold weather birth dry and distant feelings to the world. I am sure that I am not the only person who hates to go out (SCHOOL) when it’s FREEZING. I don’t find the joy and comfort in cold weather like other people do, even though I am a winter baby born on February. Do you realize how much more effort you need to put in to stay warm for one second? Of course you can layer millions of fabric but by the end of that, you’re uncomfortable and about to have a seizure from the clothes suffocating your lungs. I guess that’s another reason why I, personally, don’t really look forward to Christmas time. My family also never has any cool traditions during Christmas either. We don’t have a fireplace or stockings or wake up early to eat cookies (keep in mind I am Asian so it’s understandable right?). I also never really grew up with Santa. I wasn’t under this impression that he was going to make my dreams come true. I mean, come on I could tell he wasn’t real.

But one thing that keeps the Christmas spirit for me is….the CHRISTMAS SONGS!!

It’s a completely different genre on its own. Rick Ross is not going to give you the same tingling feelings like Mariah Carey’s All I Want For Christmas is You. I can never listen to Christmas songs when I do homework because it’s so soothing it might just put me to sleep. But if you really read the lyrics, these Christmas songs aren’t all happy, a majority is quite depressing.

Last Christmas: “Last Christmas I gave you my heart
But the very next day you gave it away”

Someday At Christmas: “Someday at Christmas men won’t be boys
Playing with bombs like kids play with toys
One warm December our hearts will see
A world where men are free”

Nonetheless, Christmas is SEVEN days away..even if “Last Christmas” wasn’t great for you, “Someday at Christmas” it will be amazing.

Leave a Reply

