Finding Your “Thing”

Recently I was listening to a podcast for my English assignment, and it was and interview of Seth Godin. Towards the end of this interview they started to talk about something that really stuck with me. They talked about everyone having their thing, and everyone having a passion even if that passion wasn’t their talent.

talent

Photo @2012 by Desiree (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)

I for one spent a large amount of my childhood trying to find “my thing”. I was a dancer, a baseball player, a gymnast, an actress, a soccer player, a volleyball player, and basically every other activity a parent can enroll their child in. Now this wasn’t because my parents wanted me to be that child that was part of everything. It was because I just couldn’t find my place. No matter what I tried there was always something that I used as a reason to quit. For baseball I complained it was a boys sport, I didn’t like gymnastics because my little sister was better than me, I didn’t like soccer because I didn’t score, I said I was too short to play volleyball. This was a struggle for me for a long time.

I know that everyone doesn’t go through this. I mean I watched my sister grow up playing soccer from the age of 7 and still playing now on a scholarship in college. I watched my brother play baseball from first grade until eighth grade, and play in band from fourth grade until he graduated high school. Some people just find that activity that clicks for them, and they stick with it.

I’m sure some of you have gone through the same thing. Where everyone else has that one thing they love to do and you are still looking for yours. It can be hard sometimes. But eventually everyone finds that one thing as long as they keep looking. My problem when I was little was that I wanted immediate satisfaction. I wanted to be the best on the team even though I just started. And that was completely unrealistic. If you find that thing you really love then stick with it, whether you are the worst or the best all that matters is that you are having fun.

No you probably read that sentence and said “yeah that’s what everybody says”. But it’s true. It took me until my freshman year of high school to find “my thing”. I joined colorguard and haven’t looked back since. So just trust me, if you are still trying to find “your thing” then just keep looking, everyone has something even if that passion isn’t your talent.

One thought on “Finding Your “Thing”

  1. Pingback: We are all artists | lexidanielle98

Leave a Reply

