Feminism-My Fav

This week in English, we discussed the statement, “it’s 2014–men and women are equal.” I of course had a lot to say about that, so when we had to write exemplification essays, I turned to feminism as my topic. I decided I would write about all the examples of how men and women really aren’t equal, even now, and how we need to change that. The following is my first draft; basically just a feminist rant written around 11 pm, but a piece of work I think can be molded into something great.

Photo from Northern Sun.

I’m asking for this shirt for Christmas. Photo from Northern Sun.

Feminism

It’s 2014, men and women are equal. Except they aren’t. My AP US History book would beg to differ and probably say something about how far we’ve come and how well we’re doing but conveniently leave out everything about how far we have to go. This, unfortunately, is only the first of countless examples of how men and women really aren’t equal, even if it is 2014.

When I was younger, I used to watch “The Simpsons” almost every night. I vividly remember an episode where the family went to their version of Build-A-Bear, and Lisa made a girl dolphin. When she went to pick out an outfit, she asked for a doctor’s uniform. The (female) employee instead gave her a “feminine” nurse’s outfit. Lisa proceeded to ask for professor and then CEO outfit, to which the employee responded with a kindergarten teacher and an assistant to a CEO.

I’m sure you’ve heard how women are paid 25% less than men on average, and how women of color are paid even less per dollar a man earns. But as my APUSH teacher so astutely pointed out, women do graduate college at a higher rate, so really why do we think we even have something to complain about? Obviously, we’re out of our minds.

And women are also crazy to think we should receive any pity for going through the pain of labor because, come on how bad can it be? Even a couple rednecks who got together and were hooked up to a machine that simulates the pain of labor only screamed like banshees so how bad can it be?

But women do have some privileges over men. For example, the concept of a Sadie Hawkins dance. Men don’t get a dance specifically made for them asking the girl out rather than the other way around so I guess women really are pretty lucky.

It must be indoctrinated in women to think that men are evil because obviously the real world is no justification for the natural resentment many women harbor against the opposite gender. It’s probably taught to them just like it’s taught to every little child that blue is for boys but pink is for girls and if you mix the two it’s just wrong.

Can you believe that? Colors, which are just pigments that reflect different wavelengths of light, that represent gender, which is determined by a single chromosome of a human’s 46.

Well, when you put it that way, maybe this whole gender roles-women are less than men thing really is eminent–and dumb.

And if you think the founding fathers meant “men and women” when they said “all men are created equal,” you’ve got another thing coming, because they (unsurprisingly) left out people of color as well.

The fact that women have to start a campaign to metaphorically “ban bossy” because that is the natural perception of women in power just shows how ridiculously tipped the scales really are.

Of course, the reason women are not seen as equal to men in many aspects is not for lack of trying. The “first wave” of feminism, or what I like to call, “women get tired of putting up with men’s bull and do something about it,” featured suffragettes fighting for women’s voting rights in the 20s. The second wave occurred throughout the 60s and 70s, focusing on issues that are still relevant today.

I can’t describe how fortunate I feel to have been born in a time where I can be a part of the third wave of feminism. I absolutely love it when I hear people talking about everything women are doing right now. One time my dad said, “you know, they’re calling it the ‘third wave’ of feminism,” and I nearly exploded with joy. And I’m not the only one. If a little boy were to look at a poster of US Presidents and see only women, people–men and women–would be completely outraged. And yet here we are, in a world where I grew up knowing that every president since the beginning of the US has been male.

I’m not pessimistic about the future, though. The fact that I am able to write this essay shows how far we really have come, but also the fact that we still have so much to do. And I could not be happier to be in the generation that makes it so one day Lisa can have her dolphin be a doctor, even if it is a girl.

Leave a Reply

