I’m Scared

I just recently watched Mr. Hank Green’s “We’re All Scared” video and he had two postulates:

  1. Creating is terrifying.
  2. Everyone creates.

Here’s his video: 

I would have to agree with everything he said in that video. I’m always scared of sharing my work, whether it be a doodle or an essay or a project. I’m even scared of posting this blog post up. I’m always scared that people won’t think it’s good enough. And from that, they might conclude that I’m not good enough. But even though I’m afraid of sharing my work, I still create. I draw, I write essays that I have procrastinated on for too long, I paint, and, like Hank said, I build friendships with most of the people I meet.

He then talks about how we make our own personality, we aren’t born with it. We make it through our experiences, our culture, our expectations, and there are many other factors. I totally believe that. I’m a quiet person. I’m not the kind of person that would volunteer to do an oral presentation first. My experiences and other factors have made me that way. When I was little, I was always told to keep my mouth shut. I guess that’s how I became the person who sits in the back of the class. Nobody has a personality as soon as they come straight from the womb. People make and mold their personality with what they have gone through in their lives.

Hank said something about if the person you’re talking to doesn’t like your personality. The thing you worked on for the longest time and somebody dislikes it. It’s sad and scary. And you can’t do anything about it because they’ve already made their decision about you and it’s not going to change. But lots of others will like your personality. You can’t just focus on that one person that disliked it, you have to move on and focus on the positive. The same goes for the content you create. Not everyone is going to like it, but not everyone is going to not like it. And it’s ok.

He then says that the only way to not be as terrified is to constantly create. Keep creating and share what you’re creating. The fear won’t go away completely but you’ll get used to it. Keep drawing or painting or writing or whatever you like to do. And share it with the rest of the world. The more you share, the less scared you are and it’ll all be okay.

Leave a Reply

