You’re my medicine

The 1975 recently released their song, “Medicine,” on soundcloud. Upon hearing the song, I immediately thought of Hester and Dimmesdale from “The Scarlet Letter.” Feel free to listen to the song here while reading or just for fun.

medicine

If you know the story of Hester and Dimmesdale, reading the lyrics is enough to realize the connection. The first verse is about Dimmesdale not wanting to “leave” Hester. The chorus is about how Dimmesdale was sick and while Chillingworth was “medicating” him, it didn’t end so well. In the end, Hester was really his “medicine.” The second verse is pretty obvious, and especially ties in with the scene in the forest between the two.

Surprisingly, the song is actually five minutes, so for the last half of the song which is just filled with strange yet endearing synthetic noises, you can ponder Hester and Dimmesdale’s relationship even more.

I think realizing how much songs can be intentionally or unintentionally be related to works of literature will help me better my writing. I recently wrote a definition essay on favorite songs and I think I’ll try to subtly tie it into my favorite song when revising. I’ll be sure to post the finished product on here too!

Here are the lyrics to “Medicine,” if you’re interested.

“Medicine”

 

I find it hard to say “bye bye”

Even in the state of you and I

And how can I refuse?

Yeah you rid me of the blues

Ever since you came into my life

 

Cause you’re my medicine

(Yeah, you’re medicine)

Yeah, you’re my medicine

(You’re medicine)

 

I, I wanna marry you

Said I, I adore you

And that’s all I have to say, bye-bye

And you opiate this hazy head of mine

 

Cause you’re my medicine

(Yeah, you’re medicine)

Yeah, you’re my medicine

(You’re medicine)

 

Cause you’re my medicine

(Yeah, you’re medicine)

Yeah, you’re my medicine

(You’re medicine)

(You’re medicine)

Leave a Reply

