When Worlds Collide: My Life

As I close my eyes, I envision fluorescent street lamps shining brilliantly over the bustling Vietnamese nightlife, where the compacted but delightful cafes always serve the best desserts at midnight. That was nine years ago. My body has been reshaped, my tongue no longer solely depended on traditional Vietnamese food, but yearns for the delicacies of the West, and my vision has taken me to places I never thought existed. 

The last memorable trip etched on my mind was July 13, 2011, when I traveled for 20 hours to Vietnam.

The moment I stepped onto the heated pavement of Vietnam’s largest international airport, I became aware that I was present at the right place. I spent the next three eventful weeks enjoying the best tropical fruits that you probably never heard of: rambutan, durian, and mangosteen. The remaining of the flight breezed by as the wind led the direction home. I realized I had played Bruno Mars the past hours. 

This is an excerpt from my recent narrative writing’s final draft and I chose to revisit my memories of Vietnam. Comment, questions, concerns, please ask! 

Photo @2010 by Leo Fung [CC- by-2.0]

Photo @2010 by Leo Fung [CC- by-2.0]

Photo @2008 by Matt Saunders [CC BY-NC 2.0]

Photo @2008 by Matt Saunders [CC BY-NC 2.0]

Leave a Reply

